A special thank you to Nicholas Kristof

7

My initial inspiration for this trip was a book. I spent a night curled up on the couch in my Nashville apartment unable to put it down. The book was Half the Sky by Pultizer Prize winning couple Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn. When I finished the last page, I remember thinking: I can’t ignore this. I have to find a way to help. And, it has to be now. Six months later I graduated university a year early and booked a flight to Asia.

This week I was fortunate enough to attend the RFK Ripple of Hope Gala in New York and meet Nicholas Kristof in person. I practically ambushed him as he was leaving the building and we had a 2 minute conversation about my project and his work. He was extremely friendly and sincere. I left the gala with a huge, giddy smile plastered to my face, feeling like my journey had come full circle. That face-to-face recognition was plenty.

But yesterday I learned Mr. Kristof posted a link to my blog on his twitter page. In a mere 12 hours it directed over 3000 people to my blog. For this, I cannot thank him enough.

If you are a new reader to Skirting the Limits, please keep following! My next post will be about bride burning in Nepal, India and Pakistan. But, for now, I’d like to turn your attention to a wonderful TED Talk video featuring Kristof’s brilliant wife Sheryl WuDunn. Enjoy!

7 comments on “A special thank you to Nicholas Kristof

  1. John Kang says:

    Gosh,
    For the beauty of the world… You are doing the right thing… Care to meet up for another ‘random’ RCC session? Thank you for the time and energy of you, and folks like Nicholas and Sheryl.
    I have met and talked to some folks who are doing a genuinely modern way to make things better… My cousin started an internship at:
    http://www.hellorewind.com
    Please check it out…
    Always, and faithfully,
    JK

  2. Amanda says:

    You are an inspiration to what many of us would like to do. I can’t wait to read your past posts and posts to come. Good luck being a positive change for girls in the world! If you’re ever coming back to DC, do let me know, as I’d be happy to introduce you to my network here (lots of Georgetown grads and profs/World Bank/consulting types)

    Happy wishes,
    Amanda

    • batesla says:

      Hi Amanda, thank you so much! I actually will be in DC for a week in the middle of December and would love to speak with you. I see you run a yoga company that does retreats in Latin America. I studied in Latin America and my trip in Asia got me addicted to yoga! Send me an email at lauren.a.bates@vanderbilt.edu when you have a free moment. Thanks again for reading! xx, Lauren

  3. Andi says:

    I LOVED this book! Nic is such an inspiration to me, I read ALL of his columns. How awesome that he inspired you to do some amazing work and how awesome that he remembered you!

  4. Loryann Fradejas says:

    Hi Lauren,
    Thanks to Nickolas Kristof, I found your page through his shout out to you on Twitter. It has been quite inspiring to read your blogs. I am a labor and delivery nurse and have also been inspired by Half the Sky to see what else I can do to help empower women. I’m looking at volunteering in other countries also. I would love to email you about the places you’ve been and any recommendations for NGOs/ non-profits here or in other countries that you have had the opportunity to work with. You are doing an awesome job. More power to you and enjoy your travels!
    -Loryann

    • batesla says:

      Hi Loryann! I think I’m going to write a post about how I set up my volunteer experiences, I’ve been getting a lot of questions about it. But please go ahead and email me at lauren.a.bates@vanderbilt.edu with any questions you have and I’ll do my best to answer them. I’m a huge fan of Pro Mujer in Latin America – they work with women in microfinance and healthcare. Thank you for following! Lauren

  5. marneymcnall says:

    Recently, Nick Kristof spoke at a luncheon sponsored by the Center for Women in Charleston, SC. After reading his book, it was great to hear him in person. Half the Sky is such an important book. It’s wonderful how he and his wife galvanize people to really look at the seriousness of women’s issues. Human trafficking, in particular, is a terrible issue that grips my heart.

Leave a Reply

